R0.00

7 Hidden Non-Vegan Ingredients: Read The Label!

30/10/2020

November 1st is world vegan day and did you know that according to google trends, South Africa ranks among the world’s top 25 nations where veganism is most popular?  In fact, these days the interest in veganism in South Africa is at an all time high.

WHAT IS VEGANISM?

Veganism means so much more than just eating a plant-based diet; it would be more accurate to see it as a way of life. It’s a philosophy of living which strives to avoid any kind of exploitation of and cruelty to animals for food, clothing or any other purpose and instead promotes the use of animal-free alternatives for the benefit of humans, animals and the environment.

HOW CAN YOU BE SURE A FOOD IS VEGAN?

Meat and dairy products are obvious no-no’s if you’re vegan, but you’ll be surprised to discover how many animal-derived ingredients can be sneaked into processed foods.  There’s only one way to be sure and that is to only buy foods that are certified vegan and to read ingredient listings very carefully.

 Here are some non-vegan ingredients to look out for, some fairly obvious and some far less so:

  • Honey as a sweetener – we sometimes forget that bees form part of the animal kingdom!
  • Gelatin (derived from animal (usually cow) collagen) is a gelling agent frequently found in fruit snacks, marshmallows, desserts and candies
  • Casein is a protein derived from animal’s milk (sheep or cow) and sometimes will be listed in non-dairy food items like soy cheese. It can be listed as calcium caseinate or sodium caseinate which may not initially alert you to its animal origins.
  • Confectioner’s Glaze on Candy – also listed as resinous glaze, shellac, natural glaze or pure food glaze, comes from the hardened resinous material secreted by the lac insect (yes, we know… eeeww!) You’ll know it’s there on sweets which have a super-glossy sheen.
  • Isinglass is a common ingredient used to clarify fermented drinks such as beer or wine. It’s made from fish bladders and is therefore definitely not vegan.  You can’t taste the difference so you’ll need to depend on finding out whether your favourite tipple contains it by checking on their website.
  • L.Cysteine is an ingredient processed from feathers or hog hair and is used as a conditioner in some pre-packed breads and baked goods and also to produce meaty flavours.
  • Whey is the whitish liquid left over in cheese-making after milk has been curdled (Remember Miss Muffet eating her curds and whey?) It’s often added to nutritional supplements and protein shakes.

IS ORYX DESERT SALT VEGAN?

Although our products don’t carry a vegan certification, the answer is YES! Our entire range is cruelty-free, ethically sourced, and contains no animal-derived products of any kind.

Salt is vital for life, but health-giving salt is so much more than just sodium chloride. Our salt is pure, harvested from an unpolluted source in the pristine Kalahari Desert and is unrefined, preserving all its natural essential minerals and micro-nutrients vital for optimal health.

Share This Story!
RECENT POST

Health Benefits Of Salt

10/09/2021

Bringing The Heart Of The Kalahari To The USA

02/09/2021

Water & Salt: Essentials For Life

21/05/2021

7 Hidden Non-Vegan Ingredients: Read The Label!

30/10/2020
1 2 3 11
Find Us On Facebook

Oryx Desert Salt

18 hours 12 minutes ago

Sneak preview of the content coming out with our 𝗪𝗵𝗼𝗹𝗲 𝗙𝗼𝗼𝗱𝘀 𝗨𝗦𝗔 𝗹𝗮𝘂𝗻𝗰𝗵! Our team could not be more thrilled ☀️

𝘞𝘢𝘯𝘵 𝘵𝘰 𝘴𝘶𝘱𝘱𝘰𝘳𝘵 𝘢 𝘭𝘰𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘣𝘳𝘢𝘯𝘥? 𝘚𝘵𝘢𝘳𝘵 𝘵𝘦𝘭𝘭𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘧𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘧𝘢𝘮𝘪𝘭𝘺 𝘪𝘯 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘚𝘵𝘢𝘵𝘦𝘴 𝘵𝘰 𝘭𝘰𝘰𝘬 𝘰𝘶𝘵 𝘧𝘰𝘳 𝘖𝘳𝘺𝘹 𝘋𝘦𝘴𝘦𝘳𝘵 𝘚𝘢𝘭𝘵 𝘪𝘯 𝘞𝘩𝘰𝘭𝘦 𝘍𝘰𝘰𝘥𝘴 – 𝘰𝘧𝘧𝘪𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘭𝘭𝘺 𝘢𝘷𝘢𝘪𝘭𝘢𝘣𝘭𝘦 𝘪𝘯 𝘖𝘤𝘵𝘰𝘣𝘦𝘳 2021.

NATURAL • ESSENTIAL • TIMELESS
menuchevron-down